Stila ‘In The Light’ Palette || Swatches and Review

Back in November, when I did my Sephora Haul, I promised a review of the Stila “In the Light” palette that I purchased. I’ve had quite a bit of time to play with it by now, and I am ready to share my thoughts!

Closed Palette w border

Inside w border

Bare and Kitten

(L-R: bare, kitten)

(L-R: bare, kitten)

Bare is a matte finish beigey nude. It tends to lean more on the yellow side, and as you can see, isn’t very different from my skin tone. I love using this as a brow highlight, especially if I am doing a shimmery eye look and need something to keep the shimmer from being overpowering. Kitten is a cult classic and it’s easy to see why. A gorgeous nude champagne color, it is very shimmery with a creamy, buttery texture.

Bliss, Sunset, Sandstone close up w border

(L-R: Bliss, Sunset, Sandstone)

(L-R: Bliss, Sunset, Sandstone)

Bliss may be my favorite shade from the whole palette. In the pan (and even swatched) it doesn’t look like much, but this pink mid-toned nude is the perfect crease shade for blending out eye looks. Especially if you are using darker lid colors, a shade like Bliss helps keep things from being too overwhelming. Sunset is a beautiful coppery shimmer. It tends to lean ever so slightly in the cranberry direction and is gorgeous when paired with Bliss. Sandstone is a medium brown.shade. It tends to be slightly chalky and you need to treat it with some TLC to get it to blend nicely. It works well as a crease shade or an outer lid color.

Bubbly and Gilded Gold close up w border

(L-R: Bubbly, Gilded Gold)

(L-R: Bubbly, Gilded Gold)

Bubbly is a very pretty light gold shade. Not as intense or yellow as Urban Decay’s Half-Baked, it still packs a very shimmery punch.Gilded Gold has a matte brown base with flecks of gold glitter. In the pan, this shade looks much more shimmery than it ends up being when swatched. It’s not very heavily pigmented so it works well as a blending color in the crease.

Luster, Night Sky, Ebony close up w border

(L-R: Luster, Night Sky, Ebony)

(L-R: Luster, Night Sky, Ebony)

Luster is similar to Gilded Gold in texture. It is a matte base with gold glitter flecks throughout. However, Luster is much darker and cooler toned than Gilded Gold and would be better suited for the outer corners. Night Sky is a blue-y silver color. I actually had to go run and swatch it again while typing this up because I was having a hard time describing it. It has a lovely soft texture and swatches as a dark gunmetal silver. Again, it seems to be more a satin base with silver glitter rather than a truly shimmery shade. Ebony has a much better texture than I expected it to. Matte blacks seems to be hard to formulate without them becoming overly chalky. I think what actually helps is the fact that it isn’t too pigmented. This allows you to build the shade up while still making it easy to blend.

(Damsel swatched and then blended out)

(Damsel swatched and then blended out)

The “In the Light” palette comes with one of Stila’s Smudgestick waterproof eyeliners in Damsel. I absolutely adore this eyeliner. I prefer to use brown eyeliners in my waterline because it keeps an eye look from being too harsh. This holds up really well on my waterline, which is impressive since my eyes tend to water a lot and I wear contacts.

Overall, I think this is a gorgeous palette to own and is a wonderful addition to your makeup collection especially if you are getting a little bored (gasp!) with your Naked palettes. I have been getting a lot of use out of this palette and have been able to create many different types of looks with it. If you are interested, this palette retails at $39.00 and can be purchased at Sephora or Ulta. For 10 eyeshadows and a full sized eyeliner, I think this is a great price and I highly recommend looking into purchasing it!

Let me know in the comments below if you have tried this or any other of Stila’s palettes!

One thought on “Stila ‘In The Light’ Palette || Swatches and Review

Share Your Thoughts