Product Empties

Product Empties

In an effort to abide by the old adage “out with the old, in with the new”, I am starting off the new year by sharing my empty products with you all.That way I clear out some clutter, and feel like I can justify making some new purchases. A win/win! This is probably about 3 months worth of stuff so it could be a bit of a long post. I recommend getting comfy and maybe finding a snack before you dive in.

Skincare

Skincare

Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner – This toner is a godsend. I am already half way through a second bottle of this stuff. I use it everyday, morning and night. The only trouble is, it is pretty difficult to find in the USA so I have to rely on Amazon and Ebay to purchase it. Definitely worth the trouble!

Caudalie Beauty Elixir – Yep, there are two empty bottles of this toner/ facial mist. Although they look different, the bottle on the right is just in a limited edition packaging. Although I have used up two of the travel sized bottles, I haven’t quite decided how I feel about it. I think I am going to try some other facial mists for awhile and see if I end up crawling back or not.

Origins ‘Make a Difference +’ Rejuvenating Treatment – This is another empty product that I immediately repurchased. This has a light, gel-like consistency that is wonderful on it’s own or underneath moisturizer. It really helps my skin retain moisture and I really notice a difference if I don’t use it for a few days.

Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm – I am obsessed with cleansing balms and oils. Nothing else even comes close to removing makeup while leaving the skin feeling cleansed without being over dried. I am currently using the NUDE cleansing oil, but I think I will be going back to the Clinique cleansing balm when that runs out.

La Roche-Posay Mela-D Deep Cleansing Brightening Foaming Cream – I received this travel sized cleanser at some point and had it tucked away for ages before trying it out. I have since purchased the full size and I love it. I use it at night to really cleanse my skin and as a good prep for my toners. This has LHA which is supposed to be similar to salicylic or glycolic acids but more gentle and effective. If you have problems with acne and acne scarring, I recommend giving this a go.

Origins Eye Doctor – This is a no-fuss, no-frills, eye cream. It gets the job done and I think is perfect if you are on the younger side but still want to make sure that the sensitive eye area is getting the moisture it needs. I repurchased this as soon as I ran out of the tub and probably will do so again.

Makeup

Makeup

Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder – This loose powder was perfect for setting my under eye concealer. I know that some people don’t like to use a powder to set their eye concealer, but I have to otherwise there will be some major creasing going on – not cute! This powder is very finely milled with a subtle sheen to it, I wouldn’t even go so far as to call it a shimmer. However, I don’t know if I will be repurchasing this right away as it is a bit pricey for its size and for what it does.

Maybelline Dream-Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer – This was a so-so product for me. It did a good job, but I was by no means wowed by it. In fact, I’m having a hard time looking back and getting any specific thoughts on it at all. I would maybe purchase it again as it is very affordable, but with so many other options out there, it may be awhile.

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser – Unlike the Dream-Lumi Touch, this undereye concealer was gorgeous! Highly pigmented, creamy, and it resisted creasing fairly well. I still had to set it with a powder, but since everything creases under my eyes, I don’t hold this against this product at all. Would definitely rebuy!

Benefit They’re Real! Mascara – This is a highly acclaimed mascara and for good reason. It lengthens, volumizes, and separates. However, I almost prefer this in the sample size because the full size dried out way too fast. I almost never buy high-end mascaras since they have to be replaced so quickly anyways, and having one that dries out so badly at this price point is a shame. Do yourself a favor and buy the smaller size if you want to try it. It is the same as the larger one, just doesn’t dry out before the product is all gone.

Lancome Hypnose Star Mascara – I received this awhile back as a sample with a Sephora order, I believe, and I fell in love with it. It is fairly pricey (especially for a mascara) and while I would love to purchase the full size, I just don’t know if I can justify it. It you don’t mind spending nearly $30 on mascara, I really, really recommend giving this a go!

Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner – This is a fantastic eyeliner and if I didn’t currently have far too many black liquid eyeliners lying around, I would go out and buy a new immediately. It is truly waterproof, and the brush applicator gives you a lot of control; making winged eyeliner a snap. The shade Perversion is the blackest black there is.

Hair Care

Hair

Batiste Dry Shampoo in Dark & Deep Brown – I love dry shampoo, but as someone with fairly dark hair, I always had trouble with the icky white residue most dry shampoos leave behind. This totally eliminates that problem. As an added bonus, it works really, really well! It leaves my hair feeling refreshed and volumized and gets rid of any oil that may have cropped up over night, allowing me to extend my hair between washings. I already purchased a new can of this AND a backup for when that runs out.

L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Restoring Shampoo – I never spend a lot of money on shampoos since I think drugstore brands work just as well for a fraction of the cost. This shampoo is gentle and doesn’t strip my hair, so I am sure at some point I will definitely buy this again.

Body Products

Body

Bath and Body Works Paris Amour Creamy Body Wash – I usually stock up on these body washes when BBW is having one of its big sales (which is going on right now!). This scent is one of my favorites! A little floral, a little citrusy – this adds up to a lovely scent!

Soap & Glory The Righteous Butter – Oh my, I cannot even decide where to begin to talk about this body butter. It is my all time favorite. The scent is out of this world and it leaves my skin so, so soft. It also absorbs really quickly so I don’t feel like I have to walk around like scarecrow after my shower. If you have never tried any of Soap & Glory’s products, please do yourself a favor and buy this. You will not be disappointed!

Share Your Thoughts

