Daily Skincare Routine

Skincare Items

So recently, I have been getting more and more into skincare. I’ve realized that no matter how “good” you are at makeup, if your skin is sad, your makeup will not look its best. I have fairly oily skin and, at the moment, quite a few breakouts. My breakouts tend to be hormone related, but I tried a cleanser a few weeks ago that I had a REALLY bad reaction to. My skin still hasn’t completely recovered from that traumatic experience. Wah.

Cleansers/Scrubs:

Cleansers/ Scrubs

I shower at night, and so that is when I tend to do my deepest cleanse. After I remove my makeup, I will either use the Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash by The Body Shop or the Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub by St. Ives. I love the Tea Tree Facial Wash because it helps to control my skin’s oiliness. It really feels like I am getting a deep clean, but my skin is never left over dry. The Apricot Scrub (yes, that same one the everyone and their sister has used for years) is something I use maybe 3 or 4 times a week. It removes all of the dead skin nastiness and I feel as if I am left with a blank slate to work with. The Visibly Bright Daily Cream Cleanser by Neutrogena is a new addition to my skincare routine. It is a cream cleanser, so it doesn’t foam which is something that I have had to get used to. It contains both glycolic acid and salicylic acid. My skin tends to react well to glycolic acid, but salicylic acid has been hit or miss for me in the past. If you guys want, I can do a full review on this product once I have had time to see how it works.

Moisturizers:

Moisturizers

My daily moisturizer is the Seriously Shine Free Mattifying Oil-Free Moisturizer by Formula 10.0.6 (Fun Fact: Formula 10.0.6 is owned by parent company Bonne Belle. Yep, the same company that made your beloved Lipsmackers when you were 12!). This moisturizer has aloe vera and bamboo extracts. I really think it does an excellent job controlling the oils on my face. If you haven’t tried this product, you should give it a go! At night, I  use my Aveeno Positively Ageless Reconditioning Night Cream. I bought this on a whim, and I find it to be a little too heavy for me. If you have a night cream that you love, let me know – I’m still on the hunt for one that will really work for me. Both day and night I use my Origins Eye Doctor. This eye cream is light enough that I can wear it during the day, but moisturizing enough that it is an excellent night time eye cream.

Odds and Ends:

Odds and Ends

I looove me a good toner. I just wanted to share that with you. I think that a toner is the most important skin product that you probably aren’t using. It is essential in getting rid of the last bits of makeup, dirt, and oil that your cleansers miss and for prepping your skin for any moisturizers or treatments that you may use. Currently I am using Michael Todd’s Blue Green Algae Antibacterial Toner. I will admit that at $18.00 it is a bit more than I would normally pay for a toner, but I seriously love this product. If you have the money to spare and want to treat yourself, I really, really recommend this lovely toner. Occasionally (as in 2-3 times a week or so) I will use the Proactiv Dark Spot Corrector. I received this as a sample one time when I used to use Proactiv. If you have hyperpigmentation from old acne scars, this will help them to fade faster. I’m not saying that it happens overnight, but it does speed up the process a bit.
Lastly, I have been using Jergens Natural Glow + Protect Daily Moisturizer. I don’t know if this necessarily counts as “skincare” but it is a product I use every day in the spring and summer to get a bit of a glow without having to roast my poor, pale, self out in the sun.

Well, there is it ladies! I hope this gives you some ideas for some new products you may want to try. What are some products that you use daily? What would you recommend?

Have a good day!
xxHeather

Share Your Thoughts